Presented by

Race Archives

2009 Honolulu

Race News

The upgraded online entry system for the Transpacific Yacht Race is off to a vigorous start with 16 boats from five countries already signed up for the next summer's 2,225-nautical mile race to Hawaii. Those include Ragtime, the Spencer 65 now owned by Chris Welsh of Newport Beach. The two-time Barn Door winner will be extending its record number of Transpacs to 15. The wooden wonder followed its overall victory in this year's Tahiti Race with a homecoming cruise to New Zealand and has enjoyed a Down Under summer of racing to be climaxed by the Sydney-Hobart Race after Christmas.

DANA POINT, CA Dec. 8, 2008 – Transpacific Yacht Club Director Sue Senescu has her sights set on her fifth Transpac, in 2009 – this time as skipper of a custom-built Class 40 race boat designed by Jim Antrim.

Sue is serving her first two-year term on the TPYC Board of Directors, is Chair of the Trophies Committee, and Staff Commodore of Dana Point Yacht Club. She previously raced in Transpac 1995 and 1997 on all women crews; in 2003 she mixed it up with the guys aboard the SC50 Horizon, and in 2005 on the Cabo Rico 56, Madrina – winning second in class.

There’s a new wave in ocean racing, and the Transpacific Yacht Race will ride it to Hawaii in 2009. The TPYC board of directors has posted an Advance Notice of Entry Requirements for the 45th race from Los Angeles to Honolulu next year with two key changes: a maximum length overall (LOA) extended to 30.48 meters (100 feet) for fastest elapsed time or course record contenders and the free use of stored energy for sail hoisting, trimming and adjusting---essentially, ending a Transpac ban on powered winches.

Page 16 of 16 pages ‹ First  < 14 15 16

Blogs from the Boats

No blog posts available for this race.